Skip to content

Factory reset on Turris 1.0 and 1.1⚓︎

Turris 1.0 and 1.1 routers don’t support rescue modes which you can see on MOX and Omnia routers. But there is a possibility to perform a factory reset and bring the router to the same software state as it was after manufacturing.

It should resolve all problems related to software and configuration, it also allows to set a new password. Generally, it is the last resort if less radical methods fail.

Warning

The factory reset removes all your configuration and other data!

Notice

If the factory reset fails it probably means that there is a hardware problem. In such case you can contact our technical support.

Performing a factory reset⚓︎

Your Turris has a red button at the back. Press and hold it for at least six seconds (until the power LED shines continuously). The progress of the reset is indicated by the LEDs. If they shine green the reset can be interrupted by unplugging the power plug. But if they shine red the reset is in progress and the router should not be unplugged.

Info

If you accidentally unplug the router when LEDs shine red you will need to perform the reset again.

When the reset is finished your router restarts automatically and should boot to the factory state. It is indicated by LEDs. They shine blue and then green. If you can see this green light your router is ready.

Then it is necessary to set the password and reconfigure your router. Connect your computer to one of the LAN ports and open https://192.168.1.1 in a web browser. See the first setup guide for more information. If you have a configuration backup you can import it instead of the manual reconfiguration.

Notice

Although the first start guide asks for registration of your router even after the factory reset it is not necessary if already done before.


Last update: 2020-12-09